Father’s day dinner at Tao Cuisine@E-Gate

I seldom blog about food but right now, I can’t stop thinking about the grilled lamb shoulder at Tao that I had the other day. So I guess I need to share my feelings and spread the good news to others. Borrowing words from others; sharing is caring right.

I actually wanted to have dinner at Shangri-La Rasa Sayang Resort in Feringghi but to my disappointment, the buffet dinner is fully booked for the whole month of June. They had the buy 1 free 1 promo for June and I missed it. I am still a bit sad, but luckily I made a wise decision to go to Tao and try out their all-you-can-eat dinner at RM50++. The dinner includes selected drinks such as iced teas and green teas.

On the way there..

On the way there..

We bring our little girl, Zara together with us for dinner and they are nothing else but very accommodating to us. We arrived around 6p.m. and received a warm welcome. I’ve made the reservation earlier and they immediately show us to our seat. Fyi, they have 2 separate session for dinner which is from 5.30 to 8.30pm and from 8.30 to 10.30pm.

The ambiance

The ambiance

From our place, we can see that half of the restaurant is occupied by small families and at the center, there are large group of gatherings consist of a few families. The ambiance is nice, the lighting is just enough and we feel comfortable and ready to try out their food. They immediately asked if the seat was ok and if Zara need a set of plate and cutlery. They told us how the dinner worked and the rules that for every 100gm of waste, they will charge RM10. I like the concept better because in normal buffet dinner setting, you can’t really control the amount of food prepared and I hate to see food wastage.

The first time the food arrived, I did not get the chance to take photos because hubby already started to eat. I ordered hot green tea and warm water while hubby ordered iced peach tea. The drinks are refillable by the way.

Hubby enjoying the grilled lamb

Hubby enjoying the grilled lamb

Here’s some of the food we ordered:

Grilled lamb shoulder

Grilled lamb shoulder

Grilled Salmon

Grilled Salmon

Blackpepper beef

Blackpepper beef

Squid with basil and pepper

Squid with basil and pepper

Motoyaki scallop

Motoyaki scallop

Sashimi

Sashimi

Grilled Shitake

Grilled Shitake

Miso soup.. so refreshing!

Miso soup.. so refreshing!

Green tea + cappuccino ice cream

Green tea + cappuccino ice cream

I loved the grilled lamb shoulder the most. It is tender and juicy and it tasted like lamb satay only better. You don’t need any sauce to go with it because it is so delicious on its own. Other grilled items are good too especially the salmon and tuna and of course, I ordered sashimi. The main dish worth mentioning is the Gyu Yaki Niku (blackpepper beef) and 3 Cup Squid.

If you are a dessert lover, I encourage you to go someplace else or you will be deeply disappointed.They only list down fruits and ice cream in the menu. We were served watermelon for fruits, so I guess it depends on what kind of fruit they had. For ice cream, they only have 2 selection, either green tea or cappuccino and we asked for a combination of both.

Zara was cranky about halfway through the dinner because she is tired and sleepy. I just let her latch on and continue eating. She fell asleep after sometime and I ate the dinner peacefully afterward. Hehe..

Sleepy princess

Sleepy princess

I am going to recommend this place to my friend. I read some review saying that the Tao at E-gate is not as comfy but I can’t comment on that until we go and visit to Tao other branch at Juru Auto-city. They said the ambiance is nicer and according to the staff, in Auto-city, they let you pick your own salad and sushi. I am so going there next time. Can’t wait!

3 thoughts on “Father’s day dinner at Tao Cuisine@E-Gate

  1. siti, cantiknye tempat makan…lampu terang sgt la, nak pelahap tak bleh le kot eh..heheheh btw, soup tu cayor ya amat, apa rasanya ye??

Leave a Reply

