Rosemary Lamb Chop with Buttered Rice

This is my lunch and dinner menu on Saturday and I am very satisfied with the recipe I found on the internet. It didn’t provide any gravy recipe for the lamb chop, but I don’t need it. I usually eat my lamb chop without the gravy, it is healthier too. I personally love it and I feel that the recipe that I am going to share preserved the taste of the lamb. In the end, there is no overpowering taste of spices. For lamb that is full of spices, I will turn to Kapitan for their Briyani Lamb. hehe..

Lamb Chop + Buttered Rice

Credit to Epicurious.com for the recipe below:

*I reduce the measurement below to half because I only have six slices of lamb chop

Grilled Rosemary Lamb Chop

  • 3/4 cup balsamic vinegar
  • 6 tablespoons olive oil
  • 3 tablespoons fresh lemon juice
  • 3 tablespoons minced fresh rosemary or 3 teaspoons dried
  • 6 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1 teaspoon ground black pepper
  • 12 1-inch-thick loin lamb chops, fat trimmed
  • 1 1/2 cups mesquite wood chips, soaked in cold water 1 hour (optional) (I used oven instead of grill so I don’t need it)

Mix first 6 ingredients in small bowl. Place lamb chops in single layer in 13x9x2-inch glass dish. Pour marinade over. cover with foil and refrigerate 4 hours, turning lamb chops occasionally. (I use ziploc bag, easier for me to stack and store in my fridge)

Prepare barbecue (medium-high heat). When coals turn white, drain chips, if using, and scatter over coals. When chips begin to smoke, season lamb with salt and pepper and place on grill. (I skip all the grilling steps, but I preheat my oven to 250 degC before putting my lamb chop in)

Cover; grill shops to desired doneness, basting often with marinade, about 4 minutes per side for medium-rare. (I turn the lamb twice, basting each side with marinade and a lil bit of olive oil/honey to create a crispy layer)

Transfer to platter and serve.

In addition to the lamb chop, I decided to add cube cut veggies because I am so lazy to cook another veggie dish for my family. I add in potatoes, carrots and yellow zucchini cut into cubes of about 1/2-inch sides.

Moving on to buttered rice recipe. I prepare a very simple one but I will add comments on what to add to make it more flavorful.

Buttered Rice

  • 3 cups of rice
  • 2 tbsp butter
  • some olive oil
  • 1 small red onion, finely chopped
  • 2 garlic, finely chopped
  • 1/2 tomatoes, seeded and finely chopped (optional)
  • 2 tbsp black raisins (optional)
  • 1 star anise, 3 cloves, 1 cinnamon stick (I did not add this, but it will give a nice aroma to the rice)
  • salt to taste (you can omit this if you use a salted chicken stock)
  • 2 1/2 cups of water (Or chicken stock for more flavor)

Wash rice as usual and place inside the rice cooker together with water/chicken stock. Begin cooking as usual.

Heat the butter on a pan, adding a bit of olive oil so that the butter won’t burn easily. When the butter is melted, add in the onion, garlic, star anise, cloves and cinnamon stick. When the onion turns clear and soft, add in the tomatoes and raisins. Add in some salt to taste. Stir for a few seconds and turn off the heat.

When the rice is almost cooked, (You can checked and see if the water is dried up and the rice is tender yet still soggy) add in the stir fry above and stir gently. You can add in fresh parsley and fried onion on the rice and serve.

Let me know when yo have tried this and don’t forget to share the outcome with me. Happy cooking and have a good weekend everyone!

2 thoughts on “Rosemary Lamb Chop with Buttered Rice

  1. Siti, Thanks for sharing.. You are such a great cook🙂 Will let you know once I try out. So far I have no opportunities to try out any of your recipes yet, but will surely do once I have the time.

Leave a Reply

