German Mince Meatball Recipe

I am sharing this recipe I got from BigOven. Sorry, I didn’t keep the name of the contributor. My bad! So this is a recipe from Anon and I love it! Approved by me and it DID taste like my favorite Ikea meatball! Love!! Ok here goes and enjoy!

My most basic (German) meatball recipe:

about 500 g mince meat

1 onion (finely chopped)

1 hard roll (or some other white bread, french bread, ciabatta or the likes – dried out and soaked in water till mushy – squeeze water out before adding to meat) (I use 10 pcs of weetameal biscuits)

1 egg

seasonings to taste

(My MIL also adds breadcrumbs to make everything less moist and more compact, you might just as well omit the soaked bread to achieve that because then the only reason you add bread is to save money by “diluting” the meat).

I like them a little fluffy, so I stuck with my own mother’s as above – the egg and the moist bread make the fluff. I mix those using either my hands or a fork. For basic meatballs I add salt, pepper and marjoram – sometimes a tsp of mustard, but you can do any other seasonings as well. (I recommend the mustard!!)

Sometimes I sautee the onion first to get them soft. Italian herbs, garlic, and (drained off the oil) marinaded dried tomatoes are very nice for party meatballs.

You can also add chopped olives, corn kernels, or whatever else if serving without sauce (eg. cold for fingerfood) Wet your hands a little to shape the meat into balls or patties and fry from all sides.

Leave a Reply

